AFOA Nunavut Chapter


Information about Chapter


Contact Us

AFOA Nunavut 
Elaine Uppahuak-Prusky

The purposes of the Nunavut Chapter are:

  (a)   to provide a central organization for the uniting together of Aboriginal Financial Officers located in Nunavut;
  (b) to encourage and assist Aboriginal Financial Officers in Nunavut to meet on a regular basis;
  (c) to advance and accredit the level of education of Aboriginal Finance and Administrative Officers located in Nunavut;
  (d) to advocate necessary changes to funding policies and guidelines with federal, provincial and municipal governments;
  (e) to initiate, promote and support projects to educate Aboriginal people about all aspects of funding and finances;
  (f) to receive funds, equipment and any other assets by way of gifts, donations, loans or other investments form public or private sources for the carrying out of the corporations purposes;
  (g) to raise money through subscriptions, projects, donations, gifts, testaments and by any other legal means for the carrying out of the corporations purposes; and
  (h) to operate and maintain a bank account for the sole benefit of the corporation and to do all such things as are incidental and ancillary to the attainment of the purposes of the corporation.


Nunavut Membership & Fees

To date, there are 20 Nunavut members of which one is a Certified Aboriginal Professional Administrator (CAPA) and 6 are Certified Aboriginal Financial Managers (CAFM).   As a new Chapter, the first directors established the annual membership fee of $100.00.  

This fee will become effective on April 1, 2017 prorated for new members.  For 2016 paid members renewing for 2017, this new rate becomes effective the following membership year.  Membership fees will be collected by AFOA Canada and will be prorated accordingly.  

Note:  Nunavut members will automatically belong to AFOA Canada, however, must also pay their annual membership fee amount. The AFOA Canada membership form will be updated in the coming months and will include the Nunavut portion.

Interim Board Officers

As the first directors of AFOA Nunavut, the following are the interim Board Officers: Bernadette Tutanuak, President; Shawn Lester, Vice-President; and Elaine Uppahuak-Prusky, Secretary-Treasurer.  Following the annual meeting of members, a new Board of Directors will be established and they will determine the board officers.