Recognizing effort and rewarding community excellence

MNP & AFOA Canada are dedicated to helping Indigenous leaders reach the highest standard of excellence in finance and management. This is one example of that commitment.

We are pleased to share, the 2020 MNP-AFOA Canada Indigenous Community Excellence Award is now OPEN to applications.  The award recognizes an Indigenous community that has demonstrated significant change through governance, leadership and management excellence. A task not easily accomplished, but has been undertaken by an entire community to propel change for its members.

Applicants/Nominees are asked to demonstrate how their commitment towards progression has positively impacted their members, stakeholders and those they work with.

We invite you to think about the people around you and to nominate someone who has demonstrated a special passion and drive in the interests of Aboriginal financial management. Who has strengthened and has built upon the successes we have achieved?  Who exemplifies this mission through their day-to-day efforts?

Award Criteria

Nominees must meet the following criteria:

Please share information on your Community’s journey of generating change towards Building a Sustainable Community. (40 points)

a) Location, history, culture, challenges, opportunities
b) What inspired change in your community?
c) What is the vision for the community’s social and economic future?
d) What resources and relationships will be required over the next 5-10 years?
Other Details to Consider 

Please feel free to include details on: (10 points / maximum 1 page)
a) Change in employment rates, education rates, housing stats, the inclusion of youth, elders, financial information, recommendation letters from stakeholders, etc.

The MNP-AFOA Canada Indigenous Community Excellence Award will be presented at a special gala during the AFOA Canada 2019 National Conference in Saskatoon, SK on October 10, 2019. Two community representatives will also receive complimentary conference registration and financial assistance to attend the conference.

 All nominations must be submitted to AFOA Canada, based on the criteria above. Self-nominations will not be considered. AFOA Canada reserves the right to use the Award recipients name in communication material regarding the Award.

Award recipients are selected by an Awards Selection Committee comprised of previous Award winners and senior Aboriginal financial executives from across the country.

Click Here to view AFOA Canada Awards and Scholarship General Regulations

Application Process is Closed


Past Indigenous Leadership Award Recipients

Previous Award Winners

Recipients of the Indigenous Community Excellence Award for Sustainable Communities

 YEAR Community
 2019 Kanaka Bar Indian Band
Lytton, BC
2018 Tla-o-qui-aht First Nation
Tofino, BC

Doig River First Nation
Fort St. John, BC
Recipients of the AFOA Excellence in Aboriginal Leadership Awards to date are:

Year  National Category
Regional Category
2017 Chief Frieda Martselos
Salt River First Nation #195, NWT
Dawn Madahbee Leach
General Manager, Waubetek Business Corporation, Birch Island, ON
 2016 Ron Jamieson,
First Canadian Investment Ltd. Oshwekan, ON
Chief Janice Henderson, CAFM,
 Mitaanjigamiing First Nation, ON
2015 Marion Crowe, CAFM   
Executive Director,
First Nations Health Managers Association
Tamara (Tammy) Saulis, CAFM
Chief Financial Officer
Nipissing First Nation
 2014 Ernie Daniels, CAFM
President and CEO
Westbank, First Nations
First Nations Finance Authority
Mike McIntyre, CAFM
Chief Financial Officer
Membertou First Nation
Membertou, NS
Chief Robert Louie
Westbank First Nation 
Lands Advisory Board, BC
Allan Munroe
VP Finance & Administration
Paskwayak Business Development Corporation Ltd. Opaskwayak, MB
2012 Kelly J. Lendsay, CAFM
President & CEO
Aboriginal Human Resource Council, SK
Marion Brass-Yellowfly, CAFM
Chief Financial Officer
Siksika Nation, AB
2011 Terry Goodtrack
Chief Operating Officer
Aboriginal Healing Foundation, ON
Alana Dixon
Canim Lake Band
2010 Deanna Hamilton
First Nations Finance Authority, BC
Lynn Anne Knockwood
Director of Common Services
Confederacy of Mainland Mi'kmaq, NS
2009 Clarence Thomas (Manny) Jules
Chief Commissioner
First Nations Tax Commission
Tammy Drew
General Manager
Miawpukek First Nation, NL
2008 Chief Thomas M. Bressette
Kettle & Stony Point Council
Dan Christmas
Senior Advisor
Membertou First Nation, NS
2007 Chief Clarence Louie
Chief Executive Officer
Osoyoos Indian Band Development Corporate, BC
Karen Bruno
Finance Administrator
Long Plain First Nation, MB
2006 Edmond Wright
Nisga'a Lisims Government, BC
Yvonne Monkman-Black
Finance Manager
Ma Mawi Wi Chi Itata Centre Inc.
2005 Harold Calla, CAFM
First Nations Financial Management Board, BC
Richard Morano, CAFM
Chief Financial Officer
Mnjikaning First Nation, ON
2004 Keith Martell, CAFM
First Nations Bank of Canada, SK
Sharon Stevenson, CAFM
Finance Manager
Peguis School Board, MB